Three Raiders Headed to Pro Bowl, None Named Darren McFadden

The NFL released the 2011 Pro Bowl rosters today and three Raiders have been selected to represent the AFC. Nnamdi Asomugha, Richard Seymour and Shane Lechler are all headed to Hawaii with Aso and Shane getting the starting nod.

It’s refreshing that both Nnamdi and Shane are finally getting their due as it’s to the point where you can write both of their names in before the season even starts. Seymour has had a good year but you get the feeling he was selected on name more so than performance.

Congrats to the aforementioned men who will represent the Silver and Black with great pride!

Naturally, there is always going to be disappointment and disagreement whenever the Pro Bowl rosters are announced. The most glaring omission, by far, is Darren McFadden. You can’t really argue with Maurice Jones-Drew and Arian Foster getting the nods. But the Jamaal Charles selection feels a little tainted.

Charles is a dynamic playmaker and is a big reason why the Chiefs rose to the top of the AFC West this year. However, when you look at who is more important to their team, Run DMC gets that crown in a walk off. McFadden’s stellar year could have been even more impressive had he not missed two games due to injury. In addition, there are few players in the NFL capable of dominating a game all by their lonesome quite like Darren.

There is no doubt McFadden’s emergence had a direct correlation with the improvement the Raiders enjoyed this season. Not to mention the man’s highlight reel will be a major part of those DVDs the NFL loves to slang on their website.

While it is little consolation, McFadden has been named an alternate along with Zach Miller, Tommy Kelly and Sebastian Janikowski.

You could easily make the case for Kelly as well who has had a monster season playing alongside Seymour. Miller’s injuries decreased his production midway through a year in which he seemed destined for Hawaii and Jano just keeps getting snubbed.

Another surprising omission was Jacoby Ford. Mush like McFadden, Ford is a player capable of changing the momentum of a game with one play. The young return specialist made big plays as a receiver and has scored TDs in almost every way possible this year.

Again, congrats to Nnamdi, Shane and Seymour for the well deserved honor. A big middle finger to all those that are still somehow going Rip Van Winkle on McFadden. All that being said, I find it hard to believe we’ll be having this same discussion next year if Run DMC is healthy for a full season.

Next Raiders Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct4:25at Cleveland BrownsBuy Tickets

Tags: Arian Foster Darren McFadden Jacoby Ford Jamaal Charles Maurice Jones-Drew Nnamdi Asomugha Richard Seymour Sebastian Janikowski Shane Lechler Tommy Kelly Zach Miller

comments powered by Disqus