Tim Brown Fails to Make Final Cut

Seven names were announced for the 2011 Hall of Fame class and Tim Brown was not among them. For the second year in a row the Raider great was a finalist and for the second time he didn’t get the votes necessary for enshrinement.

Among those elected were Deion Sanders, Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk and former Bronco Shannon Sharpe. Joining Brown on the quest to make the cut in 2012 are a couple other all-time great receivers – Cris Carter and Andre Reed – who also received inadequate vote tallies this time around.

Congrats to the entire class of 2011!

For Brown and seemingly all receivers, it is an uphill battle. The names Carter and Brown can be found among the elite in almost all receiving categories in NFL history. Reed might not have the same stats but he’s got a Hall of Fame pedigree to be sure.

Jerry McDonald goes as far as to say that it could be a wait beyond 2012 for Brown to get the call from the Hall. While it would stand to reason that Brown will eventually get in, the real crime continues to be the snubbing of Ray Guy. But that’s another story in itself.

For now, the only thing I can say for Brown is to stay positive. His day will come. The disappointment this time is missing out on receiving the honor in his hometown of Dallas. Still, when the time comes it won’t matter where he is so long as there’s a bust of his likeness to sit forever in Canton.

Next Raiders Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct4:25at Cleveland BrownsBuy Tickets

Tags: Andre Reed Cris Carter Deion Sanders Marshall Faulk Ray Guy Richard Dent Shannon Sharpe Tim Brown

comments powered by Disqus