10 best seasons in Raiders franchise history

22 Jan 1984: Quarterback Joe Theismann
22 Jan 1984: Quarterback Joe Theismann /
8 of 10

3. 1980: 11-5 (Won Super Bowl XV over Philadelphia Eagles)

1980 was an interesting year that ultimately panned out for the Silver and Black. It was the second season former quarterback Tom Flores was the team’s head coach. That offseason, the Raiders sent future Hall of Fame quarterback Ken Stabler to the Houston Oilers for Dan Pastorini.

With Pastorini under center, the Raiders stumbled to 2-3 out of the gate. He would be usurped on the depth chart by Jim Plunkett after injury. From there, the Raiders caught fire and finished the year 11-5 and securing a playoff spot with a second-place finish in the AFC West.

Oakland would rattle off three AFC playoff victories, including what is now known as the Red Right 88 game in the divisional round to the Cleveland Browns. The Raiders would handle the division rival San Diego Chargers in the AFC Championship on the road to reach its third Super Bowl in its 20 years as a football franchise.

Waiting for them was an overwhelmed Philadelphia Eagles team. Oakland would put up 14 points in the first quarter, as that would have been enough to win Super Bowl XV in New Orleans, 27-10. Plunkett would be named Comeback Player of the Year and Super Bowl MVP. Cornerback back Lester Hayes earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. Flores became the first minority head coach to win a Lombardi Trophy.