Raiders QB Derek Carr will be measured by wins only in 2020

OAKLAND, CA - DECEMBER 24: Derek Carr /
2 of 3
Derek Carr with his teammates (Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images) /

Raiders QB Derek Carr will be measured by wins only in 2020

Derek Carr through the years

It did not take long for Carr to take over as the franchise quarterback, as he beat out Matt Schaub as a rookie, and has not looked back since. Taking over a team with multiple issues in 2014, Carr was a big part of the team becoming a contender in the AFC a few years later, as that Raiders 2014 draft class was something special.

Jack Del Rio took over in 2015, Carr’s third head coach to that point, and led the team to a seven-win season. Carr made his first Pro Bowl that season, throwing for what is still a career-high in touchdowns at 32, and showed the kind of late-game heroics that would be his trademark during the team’s magical 2016 season.

Unfortunately, we all know how that 2016 season ended, as Carr broke his leg on Christmas Eve, and any chance of the team making the Super Bowl went out the window. Since that ill-fated day, the team has yet to put together another winning season, and for Carr, the losses are mounting.

Over his last two seasons, Carr has mastered Jon Gruden’s offense, and became the first quarterback in franchise history to put together back-to-back 4,000-yard seasons. He was one of the higher rated quarterbacks in the league last season, but for the fifth time in six seasons as a starter, the team had a losing record.

In 2020, he will only be judged by one statistic: Wins.